THE PERSON WHO HIT MY CAR HAS NO INSURANCE COVERAGE
Posted on Monday, December 28th, 2015 at 5:10 pm
Every person in California is required to maintain minimum liability insurance coverage in order to operate a motor vehicle legally within the state. The state requires each driver to carry a minimum liability insurance of $15,000 for the death/injury to one person, $30,000 for the death/injury to more than one person, and, $5,000 for damage to property. Failure to maintain insurance may result in fines and the suspension of your vehicle registration. Unfortunately, some drivers do not abide by the insurance laws in California.
Who Pays My Bills in a Motor Vehicle Accident?
If you are in a California motor vehicle accident, the driver responsible for causing the car crash is liable for your bills and damages. Typical damages in a vehicle accident include, but are not limited to, medical bills, lost wages, physical pain, emotional suffering, property damage, and funeral expenses. Other damages may be compensable depending on the facts and circumstances of your accident.
In most cases, the insurance provider for the at-fault driver will pay or reimburse you for your bills and offer a settlement regarding the other damages. It is in your best interest to contact our office before speaking with the insurance company or signing any paperwork. You may be entitled to receive a higher amount of compensation; however, the insurance company will not tell you this because they do not want to pay more on your claim. We have your best interests as our top priority; therefore, we will fight aggressively until you receive justice from the other party.
Even though the other driver may not have insurance coverage, you may still be eligible to receive compensation if you carry uninsured motorist (UMI) insurance coverage. Our office can assist you with filing a claim against your own insurance company under your UMI coverage. However, if the other driver has insurance but you do not have insurance, you may not be able to collect any compensation from the other driver’s insurance company.
California Proposition 213 and Automobile Insurance Coverage
California Proposition 213 “punishes” drivers who choose to operate a vehicle in clear violation of California’s law regarding minimum insurance coverage. If you are injured in a vehicle accident but you do not have minimum insurance coverage, your right to receive compensation is limited. You can recover financial losses such as lost wages, medical bills, and property damage. However, you are barred from receiving compensation for physical pain, emotional suffering, scarring, disfigurement, disability, and loss of enjoyment of life. In many cases, the compensation for these non-economic losses can be substantial. By not maintaining insurance coverage, you are risking your right to recover thousands of dollars in a vehicle accident claim.
Do You Need a Free Consultation with an Experienced Sacramento Personal Injury Attorney?
If you do not have insurance, you should still contact our office for a free case evaluation. There are several exceptions to the general rule in California Proposition 213. If you fall within one of these exceptions, you may still be entitled to receive compensation for your losses.
Contact Tiemann Law Firm by calling our toll free number at (916) 999-9000 or chat with a representative on our website. We want to help you! Contact us now to schedule your free consultation.