STEPS TO TAKE AFTER ACCIDENT WITH UNINSURED DRIVER
Posted on Monday, October 16th, 2017 at 5:49 pm
California law requires that every driver carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. Liability insurance protects other parties if you cause an accident. Your insurance pays money to the other parties injured in the accident. It also pays to repair or replace damaged property. At this time, all drivers in California are required to have:
- $15,000 in liability insurance coverage for one victim in an accident
- $30,000 in liability insurance coverage for more than one person in an accident
- $5,000 in property damage coverage
Liability insurance is the most common form of financial responsibility used by drivers in California. However, the law allows drivers to meet their financial responsibility by placing a $35,000 deposit with the DMV, purchasing a $35,000 surety bond, or meeting the qualification for self-insurance.
Traffic Accidents with Uninsured Drivers
Sadly, some drivers choose to disobey the law and drive without liability insurance or another acceptable form of financial responsibility. Being injured by an uninsured driver can leave you with thousands of dollars in unpaid medical bills, lost wages, and property damage.
If an uninsured driver injures you, even if you are a pedestrian or bicyclist, you should take certain steps after the crash to protect your legal rights.
- Call 911 immediately to report the accident. It is important for insurance purposes to report the accident even if the other driver does not have insurance coverage. You need to document the collision and the fact that the driver does not have insurance coverage.
- Never accept cash at the accident scene. Some uninsured drivers may offer cash to the other driver to prevent them from calling the police. Driving without insurance is a traffic offense that could result in several penalties. To avoid these penalties, the other driver may offer to pay for your damages in cash. Do not take the cash — call the police. Even though you sympathize with the other driver, there is no way to be 100 percent certain of the property damage or physical damage until you have your vehicle inspected and you see a doctor. Taking cash at the scene can result in you being responsible for thousands of dollars in uncovered damages.
- Gather Information from Witnesses. It can be very important to have eyewitness testimony if you need to file a lawsuit for the accident. Ask eyewitnesses for their names and contact information in case they leave before the officer arrives. If possible, take photographs of the accident scene too.
- Report the accident to your insurance provider. You need to report the accident to your insurance company as soon as possible after the crash. If you have uninsured insurance coverage, your policy may cover the damages caused by the uninsured
- Call an attorney as soon as possible. Even if you are dealing with your insurance company, you need an attorney to advise you of your rights. Navigating an uninsured insurance claim can be complex. Furthermore, an attorney can investigate to determine if the other driver has assets that can be used to pay your damages.
Uninsured Motorist Claims Attorney in Sacramento
Our Sacramento personal injury lawyers understand the frustration of being injured by an uninsured driver. We also understand the legal steps to take to help you recover compensation from any resources available after an uninsured motorist accident.
Call the personal injury attorneys of Tiemann Law Firm at (916) 999-9000 or visit our website to request more information and schedule a free consultation with one of our lawyers. Our attorneys represent clients in Sacramento, Folsom, Roseville, El Dorado Hills and other communities in the greater Sacramento area.