CALIFORNIA VEHICLE ACCIDENT CHECKLIST
Posted on Friday, April 15th, 2016 at 2:28 am
Being involved in a vehicle accident can be terrifying. Even if you are not seriously injured, the shock of being in an accident can be overwhelming. If you have never been in a vehicle accident, it is difficult to know what to do immediately after the crash and in the days following the accident. Below is a checklist you can use after a vehicle accident to ensure you take all of the necessary steps to protect yourself and your legal rights.
Motor Vehicle Accident Checklist
- Call for emergency assistance. California law requires that you stop and remain at an accident scene until police arrive or until you have exchanged information with the other driver, if police do not respond to the accident. When you call 911, tell the dispatcher if you need an ambulance and/or the fire department.
- Do NOT admit fault even if you believe you are at fault for the accident. Until the investigation is complete and you consult with an attorney, you should refrain from discussing the accident with anyone other than your attorney.
- If there are no injuries and police do not respond, exchange information with the other driver including the other driver’s full contact information; the driver’s insurance information; the name & address of the vehicle owner; the vehicle’s make, year, model, color, and license number; and, the names & contact information for all other passengers in the vehicle.
- Obtain the names and contact information for all eyewitnesses to the accident.
- If possible, take photographs of the accident scene and the vehicles. If you do not have a cell phone with a camera, place a disposable camera in your glove box.
- If you cannot take pictures, draw a simple diagram of the accident scene.
- Note the name and badge number of the police officer who investigates the accident scene — ask for his business card.
- If you did not go to the hospital from the accident scene, see your family doctor as soon as possible. In some cases, you may have an injury that was not visibly apparent immediately following the accident.
- By law, you must file a vehicle accident report with the California DMV within 10 days of the accident if the property damages was over $750, anyone was injured, or anyone was killed.
- Report the accident to your insurance company.
- Request a copy of the police report.
- Keep copies of all documents including medical records, police reports, insurance documents, etc.
- Contact Tiemann Law Firm for a free legal consultation prior to making any statements or signing any documents for the other driver’s insurance company or any representatives.
Our Sacramento Vehicle Accident Attorneys Are Here for You
Contact Tiemann Law Firm for a free consultation with one of our Sacramento vehicle accident attorneys. Call (916) 999-9000 or chat with a representative on our website. One of our friendly staff members can answer your questions about vehicle accident claims and the steps you should take now to ensure you receive the compensation you are entitled to under California’s personal injury laws.