CALIFORNIA STATUTE OF LIMITATION FOR PERSONAL INJURY LAWSUITS
Posted on Wednesday, December 23rd, 2015 at 2:01 am
When you are injured by the careless, reckless, or negligent acts of another person, you are probably not thinking about filing a lawsuit. You are focusing on your medical care and worrying about how you will provide for your family while you are recovering from the accident. As the medical bills begin to come in and you struggle to make ends meet because you are out of work, the insurance company offers you an amount to settle your claim. You need the money; however, the insurance company refuses to negotiate and continues to offer a low settlement figure. What should you do?
Contact a Sacramento Personal Injury Law Firm Immediately!
The insurance company for the person who caused your injury does not want you to contact our office. They want to offer you just enough money to get you to sign a release of liability or they want to drag out the claims process until the statute of limitations expires. If the statute of limitation expires on your personal injury claim, you will be unable to file a lawsuit against the negligent party to seek compensation for your losses. You must act quickly to protect your legal right to file a lawsuit against the person who caused you harm.
What is the California Statute of Limitation?
The California Statutes of Limitation are laws that limit the time you have to file a personal injury lawsuit. If you fail to file your lawsuit before the statute of limitation for that particular matter expires, you are barred from collecting compensation from that party. Examples of the statute of limitation in some personal injury cases include:
- Motor Vehicle Crashes – 2 years
- Truck Accidents – 2 years
- Defective Product Injuries – 2 years
- Slip and Fall Claims – 2 years
- Dog Bites or Dog Attacks – 2 years
- Wrongful Death Lawsuits – 2 years
Even though the statutes of limitation in the above claims are all two years, it does not mean that the statute of limitation in your particular case will be two years. There are exceptions to the above rules that may shorten or lengthen the time period to file a personal injury lawsuit. You must be very careful when calculating the statute of limitation in your personal injury lawsuit. The date used to calculate the statute of limitation varies depending on the age of the victim, the type of personal injury claim, and the facts of the case. An experienced personal injury attorney should review your case to determine the deadline to file a lawsuit.
You Must Act Quickly!
Do not assume that you have two years to file a personal injury lawsuit. You should contact an attorney immediately in order to ensure you do not lose the right to file a personal injury lawsuit. The personal injury lawyers of the Tiemann Law Firm understand how to calculate the statute of limitation and they have the experience you need to fight for your right to a fair and just settlement.
You can contact us online, call our toll free number at (916) 999-9000, or chat with a representative on our website. Do not delay — contact us now for a free case evaluation.